Gallery

Amazing Arizona Comic Con 2015

Another great weekend at the Amazing Arizona Comic Con! Not just great, the best yet! Some of the best comic book creators were in attendance this year, and not just any creators, the guys who created the first comics I read back when I was a kid in the early 90s: Greg Capullo (Spawn, the New 52 Batman run with Scott Snyder), Rob Liefeld (Deadpool and X-Force), Adam Kubert (Wolverine), Mark Bagley (The Amazing Spider-Man). And some of the newer guys were there as well: Steve Epting (Captain America), Steve McNiven (Old Man Logan, Death of Wolverine) and writer Chuck Soule (Death of Wolverine).

I saw two of the best comic-book-focused panels ever: Greg Capullo and Rob Liefeld. They each had insightful and entertaining stories to tell about how they got started in the business. It was also educational listening to them talk about leaving Marvel, Leifeld starting Image, and each of them working with Todd McFarland.

I have to pay respect to Capullo. The guy is one of the most genuine, down-to-earth, appreciative artists I have met at a con. A lot of these guys who have achieved fame and fortune come off as irritable and arrogant if you ask them for an autograph. Not Capullo. He saw the line of fans waiting to meet him and walked down the line shaking hands and giving high fives and thanked everyone for showing up. He took the time to take photos with people and signed whatever they brought. That alone makes me want to continue buying his work.

I also chatted a bit with some other legends, Adam Kubert and Mark Bagley. Kubert has a long list of work most of us have seen, including one of my most cherished issues, Wolverine #75, with the hologram cover. And Bagley was penciler on just about every issue of Amazing Spider-Man I read back in the early-mid 90s.

I spent some time talking with cute cosplay girls. I had conversations with both AZ Power Girl, Cara Nicole, and Vegas Power Girl. Both of whom did not cosplay as Power Girl that weekend, but were still gorgeous nonetheless. Cara and I talked about costumer (not customer) etiquette because of a blog she wrote. It was an enlightening piece and you can read it here. Vegas Power Girl let me play with her blunderbuss :o

In my opinion, Amazing Arizona Con outdid themselves. Now it’s on to Phoenix Comic Con!

Honorable Mentions

 

Leave a Reply

