Amazing Arizona Comic Con ’14

Guinness World Record, Robert Kirkman’s flippant responses and Triforce tramp stamps! Oh my!

I did only one day at the Amazing Arizona Comic Con this year. And that was sufficient, it seemed. I just wasn’t prepared for a full, three-day weekend for this con, but that’s OK. I still had a great time, learned some new things, and acquired new artwork.

The many talented creators who attended this con partook in a Guinness World Records attempt at creating a comic book in record time. Approximately 100 artists attending each drew a frame for the comic within 10-15 minutes per frame. The comic was written, drawn, edited and printed in just under nine hours, beating the Guinness World Record!

I got as many of the artists I could to sign it for me, which wasn’t very many. However, this exposed me to some great artwork I would have otherwise glanced over. I listed some noteworthy ones below.

The only panel I went to this time was an hour with Robert Kirkman, creator of The Walking Dead. It was interesting listening to his reasons why the TV show strays away from the storyline of the books, and how he understands that some fans would want to see the comic strictly followed. It was as if he was talking directly to me.

I hate that the TV show strays so far from the comics. As he explained it, he wanted to take an alternate route with the show since he already did the story in the comic book. He didn’t want to retell it in a different medium. I can live with that. The comics are still way better though.

And then I saw Rosanna Rocha’s Triforce tramp stamp. Which made me think up my subtitle. Which is the only reason I’m adding this link. Enjoy!

 

Check Out These Artists (they’re great!):

 

AACC14 007 AACC14 008

Robert Kirkman

Robert Kirkman

AACC14 013 AACC14 016 AACC14 017 AACC14 019

Daenerys Targaryen. The only Game of Thrones costume I saw.

Daenerys Targaryen. The only Game of Thrones costume I saw.

This is the face of a man disappointed with raffle prizes.

This is the face of a man disappointed with raffle prizes.

AACC14 023 AACC14 025

Leave a Reply

