Gallery

Summit Arizona: Mt. Humphrey’s

On June 28th of this year, I embarked on yet another local AZ adventure. I summited the highest peak in Arizona, Mt. Humphrey’s, at an elevation of 12,637 feet. My brother, sister-in-law, and I went up and down in one day.

That’s quite the climb. To put it in perspective, Mt. McKinley in  Alaska is 20,320 feet. Mt. Rainier in Washington is 14, 411 feet. So, 12,000 plus is not so bad for this old desert.

We started early that morning, just as the sun was rising, in a nice sloped meadow with the cable gears and boxes of the ski lifts marking the base of the mountain. A couple hundred yards from the parking lot the trail breaks into the tree line and leads up the mountain with dusty, rocky switchbacks. There were approximately 100 hikers from a group of local police departments joining us that day. It was a little crowded on the trail.

Every so often there will be a break in the tree line along the path giving way to views of the Arizona landscape. The higher and higher you climb, the trees gradually thin out, and as you look out to your right, you’ll see that ski lift across from you on the other ridge. The air gets thinner, as well, obviously. At about 10, 500 I started to feel the effects. Headaches and light-headed. At 11, 400 I felt those effects more so to the point where it was an annoyance. I took Advil and ate a few trail bars and this seemed to help. I even took a few hits of oxygen from a can of Better Than Air my brother had with him. It’s a product meant for mountain climbers at higher elevations, but I felt it couldn’t hurt.

The only thing that made my symptoms subside was when we reached a resting point at the Saddle of the peak (elev. 11, 800) and I ate two sandwiches and drank a bottle of Vitamin Water Revive, which is rich in potassium. We rested at the Saddle for a bit, taking pictures and enjoying the view. Then it was back to the trail.

We climbed over a few boulders as we rounded the peak of the Saddle and it opened up to a trail that ran along the peaks of the three false summits the rest of the way to the true summit. Not much of an elevation gain from that point, but the distance and terrain will test you. The trail was loose shale for long stretches at this part. I had to catch myself a few times after some misplaced steps and the rock gave way from under me. Eventually, we made it.

It took us approximately seven hours to reach the top, and we spent maybe 15 minutes up there. For whatever reason, there were an unbareable amount of flies. It was to the point we couldn’t open our mouths if we stood still longer than 10 seconds. Our only relief were the few strong breezes that came our way. Other than that, the view was wonderful. It was sunny and clear and warm. Not at all what I was expecting, which was strong winds and a bit cold.

The descent was long and a little painful, but we made it down around 5 or 6pm. The overall hike took us longer than it should have, but we stopped frequently along the way to take pictures and rest. And on the way down, my brother was having knee problems. But for those of you who are in good shape and focused, you could probably make it up and down in about 5-6 hours. Just a guess.

Overall, I’m glad I did this. It felt like a good accomplishment.

On a side note, I included some pictures of the Riordan Mansion in Flagstaff, AZ, a house over a hundred years old with very surprisingly modern and energy efficient amenities. The day after the hike, the three of us took a tour of the historical site and found it to be an interesting and informative history of Arizona. If you ever get the chance, I would suggest visiting the location.

Leave a Reply

