Goodbye 20s. Hello 30s.

I’ve recently turned 30 years old. It’s weird writing that. It’s weird saying it and hearing it. I’m 30 years old. Three decades of existence. It kind of sucks, just because I don’t have anything to show for it compared to most other people around my age. They have accomplished the things I’ve attempted for a long time. I’m trailing behind people who have started their careers in their twenties, married, have kids, have a home. I wanted all of these things before I was 30.

I suppose I have accomplished other meager goals that would be considered admirable by some. I’ve put myself through two colleges, lived in three different major cities and have done a decent amount of traveling. These things, not very brag worthy as far as I’m concerned, but I feel they’ve made me a little more well-rounded than others. I get to add those life experiences to all of the book smarts and skills I’ve picked up over the years that aren’t very marketable.

Out of all of my twenties, however, I do have one great thing I can be proud of, and that is the relationship I built with my fianc√©. Coming up very soon, we will have been together for four years. And as she helped me realize, I shouldn’t feel bad about having turned 30, because 30 is the age we will get married and purchase our first home.

So, here’s to starting a new chapter in my life and sharing it with my future wife, and hopefully, being a little more financially successful.

2 thoughts on “Goodbye 20s. Hello 30s.

  1. Curtis F says:

    I hear you on the 30 thing man, I’m right behind you. TImes are pretty tough right now, but you’ll pull through it. I’m trying to live my dream here in Cali and I’m still working at the same job you are, so don’t feel too bad.

    Here’s something you may not know: when we met I had been unemployed, depressed, and without friends, since I had a major falling out with all of them about a year or so earlier. When I met you and Tiff, it wasn’t just awesome, it was downright therapeutic. Getting to know you and her made me feel good to be with people again, and that’s why it sucked so much when I transferred stores and then when I moved. You’ve changed my perspective on a lot of things like comics, movies, politics, music, and beer of course. You’re a badass dude and I’m happy to know that I’ve made a friend like you for life. Marriage is just the beginning of the best to come.

    “You’re a good fighter, Solo. I’d hate to lose you.”

    • Thanks Curtis. That’s one of the greatest things anyone has ever said about me. Tiffany teared up when she read your response. You’re a good friend and we’re lucky to have met you. I’m lucky to have met you. If the three of us hadn’t been fast friends from the start and spent all of our free time together, Tiffany and I might not have gotten to know each well enough to date.
      We’re glad you’re a part of our lives.

Leave a Reply

