PAX 2011

Event Staff Woman: “This line here, folks! Get in this line right here. This is a good line to be in.”

Me: “That’s what the Germans said.”

And so set the tone for the rest of our first, and only, day at the notorious Penny Arcade Expo.

I know this blog post is a month after the matter, but I made a video of the Sunday I was there. It took me a while to make the video because I had to download a trial version of a new video editing program, Cyberlink PowerDirector 9, and teach myself how to use it. Plus I had to find the time to do it.

PAX was pretty cool. It was very different from the other conventions I normally go to, which are mainly made up of a bunch of dorks walking around in costumes. This convention had a bunch of dorks in costumes, too, but it also allowed people to wait in lines for over an hour to play 5 – 10 – 15 minutes worth of a game demo….

Now that I write it out loud it seems pretty stupid.

Anyway, I enjoyed just spending time with friends and experiencing the whole thing. Plus I got a Bag O’ Swag that contained cool things like Fire Fall inflatable noise makers! And it had an XL niconico.com t-shirt! Because apparently all gamers wear an XL! It’s like they were trying to say, “You’re a gamer, so you’re probably a fat slob.”

Top games I played at PAX and would bother purchasing:

  1. Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword (If I had a Wii)
  2. Dead Island
  3. Spider-Man: Edge of Time (I’ll wait a while for it to drop in price)

Games I wanted to play but didn’t get to because the lines were ridiculous:

  1. Batman: Arkham City
  2. Gotham City Impostors
  3. Star Wars: Old Republic
  4. Mass Effect 3

There was one demo there that I was genuinely impressed to see and fully intend on buying it, as soon as I get a Steam account. It is called Universe Sandbox, and it is amazing. You should check it out if you like astronomy, or if you just have an itch for omnipotence.

At any rate, watch my video below. I put a lot of work into it.

3 thoughts on “PAX 2011

Leave a Reply

